header bg


Following in the tyre tracks of Rohan Blair capturing his maiden Tasmanian AMCA Nationals Title last month, home state racer Jake Armstrong in last Saturday night’s South Australian AMCA Nationals Title at Murray Bridge Speedway romped to first maiden major victory.

After qualifying for the South Australian Title deciding feature race on pole position, the Adelaide-based Armstrong paced the field for the entire 30-lap event and scored an impressive win over some of the country’s most talented racers. This win made up for last season’s South Australian Title disappointment, when Armstrong had qualified on pole position and had his run come to a premature end in the early stages due to a fire.

Fellow front-row starter in the feature race, NSW-based Shane Cartwright drove a solid race but was unable to deny Armstrong of the win and had to settle for second. For Cartwright, he was pleased to pick up a major event podium finish and it was also a great reward for his long trek from his home base on the South Coast of NSW.

Completing the podium in third was former Australian AMCA Nationals Champion Ryan Alexander. The Adelaide-based racer, who is these regarded as one of the leading Super Sedan and Late Model racers, made a cameo AMCA Nationals return and showed that he had lost none of speed in the hotly contested class.

Finishing just off the podium finish in fourth was current Victorian Champion Tim Reidy (Vic) ahead of defending South Australian Champion Darren McCarthy (Vic), Jason Robinson, Ellis Dickenson (Tas), Frank Thierry (Vic), Dean Heseltine (Vic) and John Stumann in 10th. The final finisher Shannon Hilder (Vic) in 11th.

Shane Newstead (NSW), Kelsey Allen and Zack Tyson were the only non-finishers in the feature race. Alan Saint was a non-starter in the feature race due to issues encountered in his final heat race.

Earlier in the night, the heat-race action saw wins shared between Cartwright, Heseltine, Robinson, Reidy, Tyson and Armstrong.

This Saturday night will see the Western Australian AMCA Nationals Title be fought out at Esperance Speedway.

To find out more about AMCA Nationals, visit their website at www.amcanationals.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook by searching AMCA Nationals.