Tuesday, 17 July 2018

644x100 5 4 2017


blackswhaw 644

4 7 18 ibrp banner1


After Jamie Veal’s dominance in last season’s competition, James McFadden certainly responded in 2016-17, cementing his status as the top driver in what is known as the pinnacle class in Australian speedway.

1. James McFadden (Vic)
Since partnering with Monte Motorsport prior to the beginning of the season, McFadden has certainly proven that the pairing is lethal combination, having taken out the prestigious Grand Annual Classic at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway, as well as giving Monte Motorsport their first World Series Sprintcars Championship, by virtue of winning four rounds, which included the Speedweek Series over the Christmas-New Year period. He also clinched top honours in the Krikke Boys Shootout at Bunbury Speedway.

James McFadden Corey Gibson Photography

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

25 7 2017 rm ts fb header

2. Robbie Farr (NSW)
Experiencing his best season in some time, which not only saw him come out on top in the Ultimate Sprintcar Championship (USC) NSW and the USC Queensland, but the USC Chase as well, Farr drove to third-place finish in the Australian Title, while also claiming victory in last season’s rescheduled Queensland Title at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway.

Robbie Farr Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

3. Jamie Veal (Vic)
While it was always going to be difficult to top last season’s efforts, Veal was still a consistent front-runner, earning a second-place finish in the overall World Series Sprintcars point standings, after winning round two. Racking up a total of eight feature-race wins throughout the season, Veal also won the Australian 360 Sprintcar Title in a guest appearance for Monte Motorsport.

Jamie Veal Corey Gibson Photography

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

4. Kerry Madsen (NSW)
Despite a limited Australian schedule, while juggling his time between his usual American racing duties, Kerry was successfully able to defend his Australian Title at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, scoring his third victory in the event. Other strong results include winning two World Series Sprintcars rounds, claiming a runner-up finish to his brother Ian in the NSW Title and scoring second place in the Scott Darley Challenge.

Kerry Madsen Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

5. Ian Madsen (NSW)
Also contesting limited shows in Australia due to his American racing schedule, the Madsen brothers created history at the Australian Title, becoming the first siblings to achieve a 1-2 finish, with Ian coming home second behind Kerry. Turning the tables on his brother, Ian managed to clinch top honours ahead of Kerry in the NSW Title.

Ian Madsen

6. Brooke Tatnell (NSW)
While it wasn’t the most consistent season, Tatnell still managed to achieve some top-five finishes in some of the country’s biggest events, including third place in the Grand Annual Classic and the World Series Sprintcars point standings. Other notable results included a runner-up result in the Krikke Boys Shootout and fourth place in the Australian Title.

Brooke Tatnell Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

7. Luke Oldfield (Qld)
Enjoying what was by far his best season since stepping into Sprintcars seven years ago, Oldfield was a standout driver on the domestic level, winning 10 feature races, including the third World Series Sprintcars round at Archerfield Speedway. As a result, he was rewarded with first place in the Supercheap Auto Series.

Luke Oldfield Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

8. Shaun Dobson (Tas)
Winning the $20,000 to win Scott Darley Challenge at Valvoline Raceway in January, 2016-17 was a breakout season for the Tasmanian. Dobson remarkably finished 14 of his 16 contested feature races inside the top 10, and nine of those inside the top five, the majority of which took place at Valvoline Raceway amongst 50 of the country’s toughest competitors. This consistency was also displayed in a narrow runner-up finish to Mollenoyux in the Easter Trail by a single point, along with placing third in the USC Chase and sixth in the USC NSW point standings.

Shaun Dobson Corey Gibson Photography

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

Sponsor banner

9. Darren Mollenoyux (Vic)
Coming on strong in the latter half of the season, the Warrnambool-based driver’s fortune took a turn for the best when he drove past Tatnell to score a runner-up result in the hotly-contested Grand Annual Classic on home soil. Coming away with a brand-new Harley Davidson and Ford Fiesta for his efforts, Mollenoyux won the Avalon Raceway and Premier Speedway Track Championships, as well as the overall Victorian aggregate point score. He also edged out Dobson by just one point to win the overall Easter Trail and collected a podium finish in a World Series Sprintcars round at Avalon Raceway.

Darren Mollenoyux Corey Gibson Photography

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

10. Steven Lines (SA)
Although 2016-17 wasn’t the strongest season for Lines, he still managed to come away with a number of feature-race wins, including a round of the Easter Trail, the USA vs Australia Challenge at Murray Bridge Speedway in January, and the Australian Sprintcar Masters, along with numerous minor podium results in World Series Sprintcar rounds.

Steven Lines Corey Gibson Photography

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px