6 12 18 AWSR BT


Portland’s Daniel Storer has come out on top in the hotly-contested Summer Slam Wingless Sprint Series, after driving to victory in two of the three rounds and finishing runner-up in the other.

Getting his Summer Slam Series campaign off to the best possible start, the current Australia # 3 qualified in pole position for last Friday night’s opening round’s feature race at Hamilton’s Western Speedway.

With the top-three starters remaining unchanged at the completion of the 25-lap feature race, it was Storer who was the first to greet the chequered flag, scoring the victory and leading home Luke Weel and veteran Peter Logue in second and third place respectively.

Daniel Storer cropped

Rounding out the top-10 finishers were Jack McCarthy (SA) in fourth ahead of ex-NSW Champion Jason Bates (NSW), an impressive Alex Thomson, Steven Hateley, Bradley Walkley (Tas), Wayne Logue and Joel Heinrich (SA).

Travelling to Mount Gambier’s Borderline Speedway in South Australia the following night, outside front-row starter Dayn Bentvelzen managed to get the better of Storer, with the former pipping the latter to clinch victory, leaving Storer forced to settle for the runner-up spot, after coming from position five.

Current Australian and South Australian Champion Joel Chadwick (SA) picked up the final podium place, after lining up on the outside of the third row, while fellow South Australian in pole-sitter McCarthy was unable to hold on to his early advantage, coming home fourth ahead of Weel.

Heinrich, Walkley, 410 Sprintcar and Speedcar regular Domain Ramsay, newcomer Alex Ross and Peter Logue rounded out the top-10 finishers.

A bumper field of nearly 70 entrants in the third and final Summer Slam round, supported by Tyre Factory - Warrnambool, at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway, which was also run in conjunction with the third AutObarn Super Series round. At the completion of what was a busy night of action, it resulted in Storer, who had started from pole position, returning to victory lane for the second occasion in three nights, having delivered a dominant performance in the feature race to lead the 25-lap distance from start to finish.

Improving one place from his starting position, Heinrich put in a career-best drive to come away with the runner-up spot, after a great battle with Mathew Symons in the early stages, with Symons holding on to complete the podium in third. Slipping back from his second-place starting position, Shaun Lyness finished fourth, with Bates finishing fifth.

Carving his way forward three positions from ninth, Weel was next across the finish line in sixth, followed by Travis Millar, David Cook, Thomson and Hateley in 10th.

The only feature-race casualty was McCarthy, who retired from the race after eight laps.

One night prior to the three-round Summer Slam series, Laang Speedway hosted a club show, with Halesworth beating out a small but competitive field to take top honours, ahead of Hateley, Lyness, Robert Whiteside, Walkley, Ashley Cook and rookie Jake Warren.

Following the Summer Slam series, the Victorian Wingless Sprints’ next appearance will be this Saturday night for the fourth AutObarn Super Series round at Bairnsdale Speedway.

For more information about the Victorian Wingless Sprints, visit their website at www.awsr.com.au/vic. You can also LIKE them on Facebook by searching Victorian AWSR Wingless Sprintcars.