Tuesday, 17 July 2018

NEW awsr large


A truly national class, our Wingless Sprints top 10 features drivers from every state in Australia, proving that there is no shortage of talent in a class which continues to grow and become even more competitive with each season.


1. Joel Chadwick (SA)
2016-17 was without a doubt Chadwick’s best season in Wingless Sprints yet, having achieved his biggest career milestone when he won the Australian Title at Carrick Speedway in February against a stout field of rivals. This result came off the back of winning his third SA Title at Adelaide Motorsport Park and was followed up with a runner-up finish in the Tasmanian Title.

Joel Chadwick Savage Shots Photography

Photo: Savage Shots Photography

2. Luke Weel (Vic)
Wrapping up the Victorian Super Series, having won four of the seven rounds, Weel was in great form throughout 2016-17, with his season highlighted by his Australian Title performance. One of the form drivers throughout the event, Weel qualified in pole position for the feature race for the second season in a row, before suffering misfortune which resulted in a DNF. He also placed third in the rescheduled 2016 NSW Title and fourth in the Victorian Title, after running second for the majority of the race.

Luke Weel Robert Lake Photography

Photo: Robert Lake Photography

3. Jason Bates (NSW)
Getting his season off to the best possible start by winning the rescheduled 2016 NSW Title at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, Bates continued his winning ways throughout 2016-17, recently being awarded with the NSW Club Championship crown, by virtue of his three feature-race wins in his home state, along with picking up third place in the Valvoline Raceway Track Championship and another feature-race win at Adelaide Motorsport Park.

Jason Bates Gary Reid

Photo: Gary Reid

4. Luke Redpath (Tas)
Tasmania’s top competitor, Redpath narrowly missed out on claiming the Australian Title crown, finishing a close second to Chadwick. Continuing the battle the following weekend in the Tasmanian Title, Redpath managed to get the edge over Chadwick to take top honours, while also recently being presented with the Tasmanian Wingless Sprints Driver’s Driver award.

Luke Redpath Angryman Photography

Photo: Angryman Photography

5. Glenn Watts (Vic)
With a speedway career spanning almost three decades, Watts reached new heights this season, achieving a new career highlight by winning the Victorian Title at Hamilton’s Western Speedway, which was also his third feature-race win for 2016-17. Travelling to Tasmania for the Australian Title, Watts eventually came away with a third-place result.

Glenn Watts Robert Lake Photography

Photo: Robert Lake Photography

6. Tom Payet (WA)
Payet was without a doubt the standout in his home state this season, completing a remarkable WA Title hat trick and taking out the Perth Motorplex Fast Series, as well as going back to back in the Keenquip 50 Lapper at Collie Speedway.

Tom Payet Peter Roebuck

Photo: Peter Roebuck

7. Daniel Flood (NSW)
Though he was consistently strong on a domestic level, Flood was yet to achieve victory in a major event, before breaking through this season for a hard-fought win in the Queensland Title at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway. Flood also occupied the runner-up spot in both the NSW Club Championship and the Valvoline Raceway Track Championship.

Daniel Flood Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

8. Adam Butler (Qld)
One of the shining lights in Queensland, Butler further proved his status as a front-running contender when he managed to steal the NSW Title crown and carry it over the border, after qualifying in pole position and going flag to flag in the feature race to claim a convincing win. This achievement came off the back of a strong third-place finish in the Queensland Title the weekend prior, with the Queenslander also clinching the runner-up spot in the overall Queensland Club Championship.

Adam Butler

9. Daniel Hartigan (WA)
Battling with best mate and arch rival Payet throughout the season, the two-time Australian Champion’s consistency rewarded him with first place in the WA Club Championship and the Country Series, along with winning both nights of the Manjimup Shootout and scoring the most feature-race wins with six. He was forced to settle for second to Payet in the WA Title and third in the Perth Motorplex Fast Series. Although he had a difficult run in his Australian Title defence, due to failing to qualify directly into the feature race and lining up 21st thanks to his provisional start as defending champion, Hartigan came away with a hard-fought seventh-place result.

Daniel Hartigan Peter Roebuck

Photo: Peter Roebuck

10. Mark Blyton (NSW)
With multiple feature-race wins to his name this season, the veteran racer drove well throughout the Queensland Title to claim the runner-up spot, before closing his season on a high by winning the overall Ian Boettcher Race Parts Easter Trail point standings and finishing third in the NSW Club Championship.

Mark Blyton Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px