Tuesday, 17 July 2018

17 7 17 dirt mods


With Kevin Britten attempting to mirror his last season form by making a clean sweep of every title event, as well as the 5 Star Dirt Series, and every other driver out to hinder his chances, along with the return of Tim Morse, 2016-17 was certainly a thrilling season for the class.

1. Kevin Britten (Qld)
With an extremely tough track record to live up to, after taking out every title event and winning every 5 Star Dirt Series round last season, Britten came close to emulating last season’s success, going back to back in the Australian Title, WA Title, SA Title and the 5 Star Dirt Series. All of this, along with placing third in the NSW Title, more than earns Britten the top spot in our rankings.

Kevin Britten Savage Shots Photography

Photo: Savage Shots Photography

2. Scott Cannon (NSW)
Having not won a title event since 2001, Cannon was rewarded with the Victorian Title crown this season, thanks to his persistence and determination, which he also carried through to the Australian Title, coming away with an impressive runner-up finish. Cannon’s consistency also saw him place third overall in the 5 Star Dirt Series and finish fourth in the Queensland Title.

Scott Cannon Darren Hastings

Photo: Darren Hastings

3. Steve Milthorpe (Vic)
Despite having experienced success in his 20 years in V8 Dirt Modifieds, 2016-17 was a season to remember for Milthorpe, who achieved his career highlight when he won the Queensland Title at Maryborough Speedway against a tough field of competitors, while also occupying the runner-up spot in the 5 Star Dirt Series, finishing third in the WA Title and seventh in the Australian Title.

Steve Milthorpe Corey Gibson Photography

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

4. Andrew Pezzutti (NSW)
It was a positive season for the former Australian Champion, which culminated with a commanding victory in the NSW Title, after qualifying in pole position and going on to lead the feature race from start to finish. Scoring a fourth-place finish in the Australian Title earlier in the season, Pezzutti also managed to crack into the top five in the overall 5 Star Dirt Series point standings, placing fourth.

Andrew Pezzutti Tony Powell Speedway Photos

Photo: Tony Powell Speedway Photos

5. Chris Corbett (NSW)
The 19-year-old, who was a participant in this season’s Speedway Australia Rising Star Program, certainly impressed in what was only his second season in V8 Dirt Modifieds, driving a brilliant race in the Australian Title from eighth to claim the final podium place in third, while also racking up a pair of third-place results in both the Queensland and SA Titles.

Chris Corbett Darren Hastings

Photo: Darren Hastings

6. Dan Scott (Vic)
Despite not reaching the top step of the podium this season, Scott consistently remained within the top five, with his best result coming in the Victorian Title at Moama’s Heartland Raceway, where he delivered a great performance, charging from ninth place to third. Scott also finished fifth in both the Queensland Title and the overall 5 Star Dirt Series, and came home sixth in the Australian Title in what was his final season in the class.

Dan Scott

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

7. Tim Morse (Vic)
Returning to the driver’s seat this season via an opportunity from the Queensland-based Shilleto Motorsport team after an eight-year hiatus, it was clear from the outset that Morse had not lost his touch, powering to victory in the Lord Mayor’s Cup at Lismore Speedway, which doubled as the rescheduled 2016 NSW Title, in what was his first race meeting back. Contesting limited race meetings this season, Morse’s initial success was followed by a fifth-place finish in the Australian Title, after qualifying third.

Tim Morse

8. David Clark (Qld)
In addition to his feature-race win at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway and a number of minor podium finishes throughout the season, the former Australian Champion’s consistent form also saw him finish runner-up in both the NSW and Queensland Titles.

David Clark

9. Lee McKinnell (Qld)
While 2016-17 was a fairly quiet season for McKinnell, the Queenslander showed his pace and consistency throughout the Mr Modified Series, placing second overall, along with collecting two feature-race wins. He had also looked likely to clinch a podium result in the SA Title at Murray Bridge Speedway, before experiencing an unfortunate DNF.

Lee McKinnell Tony Powell

Photo: Tony Powell Speedway Photos

10. Peter Forbes (WA)
A standout competitor throughout his home state, Forbes’s consistency throughout the season saw him clinch the runner-up spot in the WA Club Championship behind Raz Pedersen, as well as placing sixth in the WA Title. Flying the flag for WA on the East Coast, Forbes came home fifth in the SA Title and ninth in the Victorian Title, earning him his place in our rankings.

Peter Forbes Peter Roebuck

Photo: Peter Roebuck

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px