Tuesday, 17 July 2018


Our top-five ranking for Lightning Sprints features a number of names which are synonymous with the class throughout New South Wales and Queensland, with these drives having continued to asset their dominance throughout the 2016-17 season.

1. Kurt Wilson (NSW)
Losing no momentum from last season’s successful run, Wilson definitely takes out the number one spot in our rankings. His largest achievement in 2016-17 was without a doubt going back to back in both the Australian Title at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway and the NSW Title at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, while also securing first place in the Queensland Club Championship and a solid second in the Queensland Title, after starting 10th.

Kurt Wilson Colin Stratford

Photo: Colin Stratford

2. Jordan Binskin (NSW)
Displaying strong qualifying results throughout 2016-17, the fast-paced youngster’s season highlight came when he managed to qualify in pole position in the Australian Title, before claiming a solid runner-up finish. Binskin’s other notable achievements include winning the Gold Cup, along with having been on track to claim top honours in the Queensland Title, before suffering a heartbreaking DNF while leading the feature race, well and truly cementing his spot in our rankings.

Jordan Binskin Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

3. Wayne Iacono (Qld)
Despite a limited schedule this season, the always-competitive Iacono was able to come away with a pleasing result in the Queensland Title, where he was in prime position to pick up the feature-race lead following Binskin’s retirement, going on to claim the state title honours. Cementing his status as a leading driver in his state, Iacono backed up his form by completing the Australian Title podium in third.

Wayne Iacono Mick Jones Photography

Photo: Mick Jones Photography

4. Chris Davis (NSW)
A standout 2016-17 season saw the former NSW Champion clinch first place in the NSW Club Championship in a fight that went down to the wire, along with taking out the NSW A Grade Championship and the Country Series, by virtue of four feature-race wins throughout the season. He also placed runner-up in the Valvoline Raceway Track Championship and received the Driver’s Driver award at the recent NSW presentation night.

Chris Davis Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

5. Matt Reed (NSW)
Displaying his consistency throughout the season, picking up the Valvoline Raceway Track Championship for his efforts, Reed was a regular top-five contender, achieving his best 2016-17 result when he seized the runner-up spot in the NSW Title. He also placed second in the NSW Club Championship, the NSW A Grade Championship and the Country Series and came away with a third-place finish in the Gold Cup.

Matt Reed Crashys Photos

Photo: Crashy's Photos

250 4 7 18 boetcher

250 clarko

250 5STAR Side BannerA

 NEW awsr sml

7 3 18 blackswhaw layered 249

v3 2017 GW sml

250 redline 250

250 amca

250 qlsra 249x84

power plus 250px